RICHARD X – GREEN MAN : NATURE’S ETERNALLY DISOBEDIENT BEING

.

greenlion

.

THE LION KING IS BACK

ACCEPT NO COPYCATS

I got ‘that’ tingle

THE ALL BECOMES NEW

.
Nature represents a chaotic, lawless order which is in direct confrontation with civilisation. But nature has it’s own lore … life itself … The green horse and rider are iconic representations of nature’s disturbance to the status quo and dominion of Law.

Nature is presented throughout as rough and indifferent, constantly threatening the order of men and courtly life.

Nature invades and disrupts order in major events both symbolically and through the inner nature of life.
.

EARTH COUNCIL

LINK
https://outofthisworldx.wordpress.com/category/earth-council/

.

greenknightx

.

”GREEN GIANT”

EARTH COUNCIL

.
Sir Gawain and the ‘headless’ Green Knight
.

.
Greenman by XTC
.

.
GREEN MAN
WIKIPEDIA LINK
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Green_Man
.
.

“When that four watt light bulb goes on in my head I usually reach for the nearest instrument, which, nine times out of ten, ends up being my daughter Holly’s school guitar.

It’s about two-thirds scale, nylon strings, doesn’t stay in tune and was built in Romania.

Now, as everyone knows, Romania is to Great Guitars as Adolf Hitler was to champion figure skating.

But what the heck, it’s handy and I seem to have acquired it by default.

Boys and pop groups are of more interest to her at the moment than Tom Dooley and Tabulature.”

“Anyway, I was scrubbing away one day on the top four strings and dreamily droning a melody that seemed to sound archaic and summoned up the rolling hills (which we’re surrounded by in the bowl of Swindon).

I rushed out to my studio at the bottom of the garden and knocked up a loop of percussive noises.

Something seemed to be growing.

When I traced out my humming melody on a string sound, everything fell into place.

I got ‘that’ tingle.” “The lyric came quite quickly.

The music seemed to suggest the land and forests.

Vaughn Williams with a hard-on, a Pagan ritual, a celebration of the timeless, the spirit of the trees, the Greenman.”

“I tried to put into the song all of the essence of the male side of nature.

The tall oaks and the eternal father, the lover or the green budding son.

In short, mother nature’s man in all his forms.

It takes two to tango monotheists!”

“In almost every interview I’ve done for ‘Apple Venus volume one’, I’m asked why did we go for a middle Eastern sound for ‘Greenman’?

What?

For me, there isn’t the faintest pyramid shaped thing in sight.

Call me the village idiot but it’s all rooted in English Folk Music to my ear.

Less old bazaar in Cairo, more Marlborough Mop.”

“Technical note:-All the orchestral sounds on this demo are again Proteus. It would be a few years before a forty piece orchestra in Abbey Road got to grips with it.

Holly’s guitar is called an ‘Okada’ and was the cheapest in the shop.”

Andy Partridge XTC
.
.

